WFPS Half Marathon

img_6966

This past Sunday 3, 216 runners crossed the finish line at the 5th Annual Winnipeg Fire Paramedic Service Half Marathon (WFPS). Jonathan Torchia, race director for the WFPS, says over the passed four years they’ve raised $175,000. He says this year alone he thinks they will raise $75,000 but it’s not official yet, they are still adding up the numbers.

When I crossed the finish line at 1:40:49, my first thought was, I can’t feel my legs. My second thought was, when is the next race! I know I’m not the only runner that felt this way, racing gets addicting. Thank goodness it’s not a bad addiction to have — it keeps you healthy and active.

Here is a helpful link with all the upcoming races in Winnipeg.

Run Guides

img_6897map

Most of the blogs posted on RUN SKI EXPLORE  appeal to people who are already runners. But maybe you follow this blog because you think it’s interesting, and you’re not a runner (yet!) and don’t know what the hype is all about.

Well, people run for lots of reasons and I urge you to give it a try — quick before it gets too cold.

Reasons people run:

  • Some people run to stay healthy and active. It’s a great way to get in some cardio, especially if you run outside and use it as an opportunity to immerse yourself in nature or explore your city.
  • Some people run to clear their mind. I know lots of people who say running is their meditation.
  • Some people run because it’s an inexpensive way to exercise and have fun.
  • Some people run as a social activity. There are a few different run clubs in the city like Winnipeg Run Club hosted by lululemon. It’s free and they meet every Thursday at 6p.m. in the Assiniboine Park.
  • Some people run to race. People love setting fitness goals for themselves, and registering for a race like the WFPS will force them to train hard for race day.

These are just a few of the many reasons people run. There are countless benefits to running, and it’s an accessible activity. If I had one tip for a new runner, I would say: buy a good pair of shoes!

Happy running!

Leave a comment